FASTag Exemption List – Exempted FASTag Online Process

Team AckodriveJun 6, 2022

Share Post

In an effort to remove congestion and delays at National Highway (NH) toll plazas across the country, the Ministry of Road Transport & Highways (MoRTH) has introduced Electronic Toll Collection (ETC) through RFID based FASTag. Through this method, all vehicles can pass FASTag lanes without having to stop to make a payment enabling faster movement of vehicles.

FASTag Exemption List – Exempted FASTag Online Process

The Ministry also directed that exempted FASTag will be issued to all categories of vehicles listed as “exempted from paying user fee” under Rule 11 of the National Highways Fees Rules, 2008. Read on to find out about how to apply for an exempted FASTag and list of FASTag exemption vehicles. List of Exempted FASTag Vehicles:

As per the directive, the Ministry has released the list of exempted FASTag vehicles which require the FASTag sticker, despite being exempted from paying the fee at NH plazas across India.

Below is the list of exempted category of vehicles:

Type of FASTag Exemption Vehicles Code
Transporting and Accompanying
President of India 1
Vice-President of India 2
Prime Minister of India 3
Governor of a State 4
Chief Justice of India (CJI) 5
Speaker of the House of People 6
Cabinet Minister of the Union 7
Chief Minister of a State 8
Supreme Court Judge 9
Minister of State 10
Lieutenant Governor of a Union Territory 11
Chief of Staff 12
Chairman of the Legislative Council of a State 13
Speaker of Legislative Council of a State 14
Chief Justice of a High Court 15
Judge of a High Court 16
Member of Parliament (MP) 17
Army Commander of Vice-Chief of Army Staff and equivalent in other services 18
Chief Secretary to a State Government 19
Secretary to the Government of India 20
Secretary, Council of States 21
Secretary, House of People 22
Foreign Dignitary on State Visit 23
MLA and MLC 24
An awardee of Param Vir Chakra, Ashok Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra, Kirti Chakra, Vir Chakra and Shaurya Chakra 25
Used For Official Purpose:
Ministry of Defense including those eligible under the Indian Toll (Army and Air Force) Act, 1901 27
Central and State Armed Forces in Uniform, Paramilitary Forces and Police 28
Executive Magistrate 29
Emergency/Utility Vehicles:
Fire-Fighting Department or Organisation 30
NHAI/ Government Organisation utilising vehicles for the purpose of inspection, construction or operational or maintenance of national highways and survey. 31
Ambulance 32
Funeral Van 33
Mechanical Vehicles Designed for use by persons suffering from physical disability 34

Steps for Exempted FASTag Online Application:

Exempted vehicles are required to use FASTag stickers despite being excluded from paying user fees at NH operated toll plazas. This is to ensure that all vehicles plying through ETC operated toll plazas use FASTag for seamless movement. Also, new ambulances and funeral vehicles can apply for FASTag exemption under this category.

As per NH Fee Rule 2008 and subsequent amendments, exempted FASTag will be issued free of cost to all vehicles under this category. Before you understand how to apply for an exempted FASTag, below are the required documents while submitting the application form:

Documents for Exempted FASTag Application:

Scanned copies of the below documents are required while submitting the application for the exempted FASTag:

  1. Duly Filled Application Form

  2. Registration Certificate (RC) of the Vehicle

  3. Identification Proof (ID Proof) – Aadhaar, DL, PAN, Govt. ID Proof, Voter ID

  4. Proof of Exemption as applicable

Online Application Process for Exempted FASTag:

Below are the steps to apply for the Exempted FASTag through the web portal of the Indian Highways Management Company Limited (IHMCL):

Registration Process:

Step 1: Visit IHMCL website and register yourself by providing your name, email address, mobile number and the city you reside.

Step 2: Upon successful registration, your User ID and Password will be sent to your email address.

Application Process:

Step 1: Log in to the IHMCL web portal with your Username and Password.

Step 2: Download the application form for exempted FASTag from the Dashboard

Step 3: Click on the “Upload Form” and follow the process below:

  • Select the exempted category listed on the above table

  • Select the respective NHAI Regional Office (RO) to submit the application.

  • Enter the exempted applicant’s name, mobile number and email address.

  • Enter the vehicle registration number for which the exempted FASTag.

  • Upload the scanned copies of the below documents:

    • RC of the vehicle.

    • ID Proof

    • Proof of Exemption

    • Duly filled and signed application form

Step 4: Click on “Submit” to complete the application process and you will receive an auto-reply email along with the Application Case ID to your email address.

Post-Application Process:

Step 1: Check the status of your application on the web portal.

Step 2: In case there are any observations, you will have to submit the required documents or clarifications to process your application.

Step 3: If your application is approved, then you will receive an approval or issuance of exempted FASTag with details to your registered email address.

Step 4: You are required to collect the exempted FASTag sticker from the respective Regional Office of NHAI.

List of Regional Office of the NHAI:

Below are the NHAI RO’s name, address and email ID:

Sl. No. RO Name Address Email ID
1 Vijayawada Regional Office, National Highways Authority of India, Plot No.21, Teachers Colony, Gurunanak Nagar Road, Vijayawada, A.P., 520008
2 Guwahati National Highways Authority of India, Regional Office, Guwahati, NEDFi House, 4th Floor, G. S. Road, Dispur, Guwahati781006 Assam National Highways Authority of India, Regional Office, Guwahati, NEDFi House, 4th Floor, G. S. Road, Dispur, Guwahati781006 Assam
3 Patna Regional Office, National Highways Authority of India, D-63, First Floor, Rajesh Kumar Path, Sri Krishnapuri, Boring Road, Patna-800001
4 Nagpur Regional Office National Highways Authority of India Plot No.159, Bungalow No.1, Sudhakar Apartments, Ram Nagar, Ambazari Hill Top, Nagpur-440033, Maharashtra

Exempted FASTag Support Contact Details:

If you have any queries or require any help with regards to exempted FASTag, you can write to:

  • Email 

Frequently Asked Questions

Below are some of the frequently asked questions about exempted FASTag:


Should vehicles exempted from paying fees at NH toll plazas, affix a FASTag sticker?

Yes, as per the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways, all categories of vehicles that are exempted from paying toll fee at the National Highways are required to affix the FASTag RFID sticker on their vehicle.

What is the cost to purchase an exempted FASTag?

As per NH Fee Rule 2008 and subsequent amendments, exempted FASTags will be issued Free of cost.

Can I get an exempted FASTag from member banks?

No. An agency authorised by the NHAI will be the only issuer of exempted FASTag in the country.

Can exempted persons/vehicles without a FASTag reap the benefit of non-payment of toll fees?

Yes, persons or vehicles can continue to benefit from toll fee exemption upon displaying valid ID cards.

What is the validity of an exempted FASTag?

An exempted FASTag is valid for 5 years for government vehicles, while it is 1-year in case of private vehicles.

What is the validity of an exempted FASTag for MPs, MLAs and MLCs?

The exempted FASTag is valid for the respective tenure of parliament or assembly.

Explore More: