Jharkhand Bank Holidays List 2022

Published on 4 Aug, 2021, 5:11 PM IST
Updated on 6 Jun, 2022, 11:25 AM IST

ACKO Drive - logo
Team Ackodrive
ReadTimeIcon
5 min read
Interesting Articles
Follow us onfollow-google-news-icon

Share Post

Similar to other north Indian states, Jharkhand comprises several towns and villages. The state is known for its mineral resources. Coal and iron ore are crucial to Jharkhand’s industry set-up. Apart from mining, Jharkhand’s economy is also dependent on agriculture. The cottage industry and Information technology industry also contribute to Jharkhand’s development.

Jharkhand Bank Holidays

The state’s banking system ensures that all transactions take place smoothly. However, there are times when banks are closed in the state. Read ahead to know more about bank holidays in Jharkhand.

Here are five important things you should know about bank holidays in Jharkhand for 2022.

  • All Sundays are declared a part of Jharkhand’s bank holidays.

  • The list of Jharkhand’s bank holidays for 2022 includes the second and fourth Saturdays of each month.

  • Jharkhand’s bank holidays for 2022 are declared by the state government.

  • List of bank holidays in Jharkhand is followed by the public banks as well as the private banks.

  • Online banking facilities are operational during bank holidays in Jharkhand.

Bank Holidays Calendar in Jharkhand 2022:

Listed below are the days on which bank’s branch offices shall remain closed in Jharkhand. Note that the following table gives an overview and some of these dates might be subject to change. For details, you can visit Jharkhand’s government website.

Bank holidays in Jharkhand during January

Day Date Holiday
Saturday 8 January Second Saturday
Saturday 22 January Fourth Saturday
Wednesday 26 January Republic Day

Bank holidays in Jharkhand during February

Day Date Holiday
Saturday 12 Feb Second Saturday
Saturday 26 Feb Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Jharkhand during March

Day Date Holiday
Tuesday 1 March Maha Shivaratri
Saturday 12 March Second Saturday
Saturday 19 March Holi
Saturday 26 March Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Jharkhand during April

Day Date Holiday
Monday 4 April Sarhul
Saturday 9 April Second Saturday
Thursday 14 April Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti & Mahavir Jayanti
Friday 15 April Good Friday
Saturday 23 April Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Jharkhand during May

Day Date Holiday
Tuesday 3 May EId-ul-Fitr
Saturday 14 May Second Saturday
Monday 16 May Buddha Poornima
Saturday 28 May Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Jharkhand during June

Day Date Holiday
Saturday 11 June Second Saturday
Saturday 25 June Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Jharkhand during July

Day Date Holiday
Saturday 9 July Second Saturday
Sunday 10 July Bakrid
Saturday 23 July Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Jharkhand during August

Day Date Holiday
Tuesday 9 August Muharram
Saturday 13 August Second Saturday
Monday 15 August Independence Day
Friday 19 August Janmashtami
Saturday 27 August Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Jharkhand during September

Day Date Holiday
Saturday 10 September Second Saturday
Saturday 24 September Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Jharkhand during October

Day Date Holiday
Sunday 2 October Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
Monday 3 October Maha Ashtami
Tuesday 4 October Maha Navami
Wednesday 5 October Vijaya Dashami
Saturday 8 October Second Saturday
Sunday 9 October Eid-E-Milad
Saturday 22 October Fourth Saturday
Tuesday 25 October Diwali
Sunday 30 October Chhath Puja

Bank holidays in Jharkhand during November

Day Date Holiday
Tuesday 8 November Guru Nanak Jayanti
Saturday 12 November Second Saturday
Saturday 26 November Fourth Saturday

Bank holidays in Jharkhand during December

Day Date Holiday
Saturday 10 December Second Saturday
Saturday 24 December Fourth Saturday
Sunday 25 December Christmas

Note: This table applies to the entire state of Jharkhand including the following areas.

  • Jamshedpur

  • Dhanbad

  • Ranchi

  • Bokaro Steel City

  • Deoghar

  • Chakradharpur

  • Phusro

  • Hazaribagh

  • Giridih

  • Ramgarh

Also, read: India Bank Holidays List 2022

Top Places to Visit in Jharkhand:

Do visit the following places if you are planning a trip to Jharkhand.

Ranchi: There’s more to Ranchi than being called as M. S. Dhoni’s hometown. It is the capital of Jharkhand and is known for its waterfalls. Jharkhand offers soothing views featuring mountains, hills and waterfalls. Bisra Zoological Park, Ranchi Lake, and Deer Park are its other attractions.

Jamshedpur: The city of Jamshedpur is synonymous with Tata Steel. It is Jharkhand’s largest city and is also referred to as Steel City. Jamshedpur is a well-planned city and is known for tourist spots like Dalma Hills, Jayanti Sarovar, and Bhuvaneshwari Temple.

Hazaribagh: If we break down the name of this city, we get ‘hazar’ and ‘bagh’; words that mean thousand and garden, respectively. Hazaribagh is known for its green cover and is a renowned wildlife tourism destination.

Giridih: Before 1972, Giridih was a part of Hazaribagh. Afterwards, it became a separate city known for its green hills. The city is a pilgrim site for the Jain community. Parasnath Hills, Harihar Dham, and Devari Temple are its major tourist sites.

Deoghar: This Jharkhand city is a well-known destination for religious tourism. It houses one of the 12 jyotirlingas – Baba Baidyanath temple. The city is also home to several Lord Shiva temples. You can visit Trikuta Hills, Shivganga, and Hathi Pahar in Deoghar.

Netarhat: Netarhat is a popular hill station in Jharkhand. It is frequented by tourists looking for a change from their hectic city life. It is a sought-after spot in the summer season. Do not miss the Magnolia Sunset Point and Ghaghri Falls in Netarhat.

Palamu: From a wildlife sanctuary to a fort, Palamu offers a lot to its visitors. It is a widely-visited spot in Jharkhand. History and culture enthusiasts will have a lot to cherish on visiting Palamu.

Other States Bank Holiday List 2022:

IconTags
holidays