West Bengal Bank Holidays List 2022

Published on 5 Aug, 2021, 12:53 PM IST
Updated on 6 Jun, 2022, 11:35 AM IST

ACKO Drive - logo
Team Ackodrive
ReadTimeIcon
5 min read
Interesting Articles
Follow us onfollow-google-news-icon

Share Post

Bank holidays are days when banks have a day off. The offices are shut and the employees get to rest. However, you can perform certain banking transactions online even if the offices are closed. Bank holidays in West Bengal can be on different days than any other Indian state because of the unique festivals celebrated over there. National holidays such as Independence Day are included in West Bengal’s bank holidays.

West Bengal Bank Holidays

People should be aware of Bank holidays in West Bengal in 2022 so that they can plan and do not miss out on making crucial banking transactions. A list of West Bengal holidays in 2022 is declared at the beginning of the year to create awareness. West Bengal’s bank holidays in 2022 take into consideration national days and state-specific festivals.

West Bengal Bank Holidays Calendar 2022:

As a basic guideline, one should know that Sundays and Second and Fourth Saturdays of the month are declared as bank holidays calendar in West Bengal.  Mentioned below is a table showing the bank holiday’s list in West Bengal. Note that the below-mentioned West Bengal’s bank holiday list may be subject to changes.

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During January 2022:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 08 January Second Saturday
Wednesday 12 January Swami Vivekanand Jayanti
Saturday 22 January Fourth Saturday
Sunday 23 January Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti
Wednesday 26 January Republic Day

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During February 2022:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 05 February Vasant Panchami
Saturday 12 February Second Saturday
Saturday 26 February Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During March 2022:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 12 March Second Saturday
Friday 18 March Doljatra
Friday 18 March Holi
Saturday 26 March Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During April 2022:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 09 April Second Saturday
Thursday 14 April Dr. Ambedkar Jayanti
Friday 15 April Bengali New year
Friday 15 April Good Friday
Saturday 23 April Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During May 2022:

Day Date Holiday Name
Sunday 01 May May Day
Tuesday 03 May Eid-Ul-Fitr
Monday 09 May Guru Rabindranath Jayanti
Saturday 14 May Second Saturday
Monday 16 May Buddha Purnima
Saturday 28 May Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During June 2022:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 11 June Second Saturday
Saturday 25 June Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During July 2022:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 09 July Second Saturday
Sunday 10 July Bakri Eid
Saturday 23 July Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During August 2022:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 13 August Second Saturday
Monday 15 August Independence Day
Saturday 27 August Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During September 2022:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 10 September Second Saturday
Saturday 24 September Fourth Saturday
Sunday 25 September Mahalaya Amavasye

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During October 2022:

Day Date Holiday Name
Sunday 02 October Gandhi Jayanti
Monday 03 October Maha Ashtami
Tuesday 04 October Maha Navami
Wednesday 05 October Vijaya Dashami
Saturday 08 October Second Saturday
Sunday 09 October Lakshmi Puja
Saturday 22 October Fourth Saturday
Tuesday 25 October Diwali

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During November 2022:

Day Date Holiday Name
Tuesday 08 November Guru Nanak Jayanti
Saturday 12 November Second Saturday
Saturday 26 November Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in West Bengal During December 2022:

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 10 December Second Saturday
Saturday 24 December Fourth Saturday
Sunday 25 December Christmas

Note: The holidays mentioned in the above table are applicable throughout West Bengal including the following cities.

  • Kolkata

  • Asansol

  • Siliguri

  • Durgapur

  • Bardhaman

  • English Bazaar

  • Berhampore

  • Habra

  • Kharagpur

  • Darjeeling

Also, read: India Bank Holidays List 2022

Places to Visit in West Bengal:

Here’s a list of popular places to visit in West Bengal.

Kolkata: Kolkata is one of India’s top cities. It is synonymous with Bengali food, especially sweet dishes. The city is a cricket crazy and football fanatic. You can check out British Raj architecture in this metropolitan city.

Darjeeling: If you want to take a break from the fast-paced life of the city, what’s better than retiring to the mountains for a week and sip Darjeeling tea? Darjeeling is a tourist-friendly hill station in West Bengal and is known for its mesmerising mountains and tea gardens on them.

Kalimpong: If Darjeeling is too commercial for you, you can explore another hill station in West Bengal – Kalimpong. It is known for its tranquillity. You can find churches and monasteries in Kalimpong along with Tibetan handicrafts. Kalimpong offers a great view of the Himalayas.

Hooghly: Hooghly town and its Hooghly river have a historic significance. It has been influenced by the Portuguese, Mughals, and Britishers. In the modern age, Hooghly is known for its religious tourism and great food.

Sunderbans: If you love nature and adventure, you must plan a trip to the Sunderbans. It is famous as a national park and a tiger reserve. The ideal time to visit the park is from December to February.

Other States Bank Holiday List 2022:

IconTags
holidays