Tamil Nadu Bank Holiday List 2022

Published on 5 Aug, 2021, 6:18 AM IST
Updated on 6 Jun, 2022, 11:10 AM IST

Team Ackodrive
ReadTimeIcon
5 min read
Interesting Articles
Follow us onfollow-google-news-icon

Share Post

Public Sector Undertaking (PSU) and Commercial Banks across the country remain closed on the second and fourth Saturdays of every month. Banks in Tamil Nadu observe both national and festival holidays during the calendar year. We have compiled the list of Tamil Nadu Bank Holidays in 2022.

Tamil Nadu Bank Holidays

Bank Holidays Calendar in Tamil Nadu:

Apart from the mandatory Tamil Nadu bank holidays calendar, festivals holidays are observed during the year as well. Banking transactions are not available during bank holidays in Tamil Nadu; however, with the advent of online transactions, customers can log in to their account and avail certain banking services.

List of Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu 2022:

We have compiled the list of bank holidays in Tamil Nadu with day, date and name:

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During January 2022

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 01 January New Years Day
Saturday 08 January Second Saturday
Saturday 15 January Pongal & Thiruvalluvar Day
Sunday 16 January Uzhavar Thirunal
Saturday 22 January Fourth Saturday
Wednesday 26 January Republic Day

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During February 2022

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 12 February Second Saturday
Saturday 26 February Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During March 2022

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 12 March Second Saturday
Saturday 26 March Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During April 2022

Day Date Holiday Name
Friday 01 April Annual Closing of Bank Accounts
Saturday 09 April Second Saturday
Thursday 14 April Tamil New Year, Mahavir Jayanti & Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
Friday 15 April Good Friday
Saturday 23 April Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During May 2022

Day Date Holiday Name
Sunday 01 May May Day
Tuesday 03 May Eid-ul-Fitr
Saturday 14 May Second Saturday
Saturday 28 May Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During June 2022

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 11 June Second Saturday
Saturday 25 June Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During July 2022

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 09 July Second Saturday
Sunday 10 July Eid al Adha / Bakrid
Saturday 23 July Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During August 2022

Day Date Holiday Name
Tuesday 09 August Muharram
Saturday 13 August Second Saturday
Monday 15 August Independence Day
Friday 19 August Janmashtami
Saturday 27 August Fourth Saturday
Wednesday 31 August Ganesh Chaturthi

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During September 2022

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 10 September Second Saturday
Saturday 24 September Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During October 2022

Day Date Holiday Name
Sunday 02 October Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday 04 October Maha Navami & Ayudha Pooja
Wednesday 05 October Vijaya Dashami
Saturday 08 October Second Saturday
Sunday 09 October Eid-e-Milad
Saturday 22 October Fourth Saturday
Monday 24 October Diwali

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During November 2022

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 12 November Second Saturday
Saturday 26 November Fourth Saturday

Bank Holidays in Tamil Nadu During December 2022

Day Date Holiday Name
Saturday 10 December Second Saturday
Saturday 24 December Fourth Saturday
Sunday 25 December Christmas

Note: The list of Tamil Nadu bank holidays is applicable across the state. Below are some of the cities:

  • Chennai

  • Coimbatore

  • Madurai

  • Salem

  • Tiruchirapalli

  • Erode

  • Thanjavur

  • Tirunelveli

  • Tiruppur

  • Thoothukudi

  • Hosur

Also, read: India Bank Holidays List 2022

Places to Visit During Holidays in Tamil Nadu:

Banking services remain unavailable during bank holidays in Tamil Nadu. Planning your visits to Tamil Nadu during long weekends will ensure you restrict the use of leaves. Here some of the best destinations that you may want to visit when you are holidaying in Tamil Nadu:

  • Thanjavur: The historic town of Tamil Nadu boasts of brilliant temple and monument architecture built during the 11th century. The Brihadeeshwarar Temple is a must visit if you are in Tamil Nadu.

  • Madurai: The skyline of the city is dotted with 14 colourful gopurams of the ancient Meenakshi Amman Temple. Millions of processions and ceremonies are held in the temple for the ardent devotees of Lord Vishnu and Goddess Meenakshi.

  • Mudumalai: Mudumalai is India’s first Biosphere Reserve and was declared a tiger reserve by the state government in 2007. Visitors are treated to wildlife safaris, eco-tourism, and you can also stay in the Mudumalai Tiger Reserve accommodation.

  • Chennai: The capital city of Tamil Nadu, Chennai is known as the gateway to south India. The city offers an insight into the traditions and culture of the Tamils. From movie theatres to beaches, Chennai is an excellent metro city with roots to its Tamil traditions.

Other States Bank Holiday List 2022:

IconTags
holidays